Web Content Viewer

Display menu

Web Content Viewer

Display menu

Co-operators recognized in Western Canada

By Dan Yates

October 26, 2016

Three co-operators with ties to Federated Co-operatives Limited (FCL) and the Co-operative Retailing System (CRS) were among those feted last week by provincial co-operative associations in Western Canada.

The Saskatchewan Co-operative Merit Awards and Manitoba Co-operative Association Awards were held during Co-op Week, a national celebration of the achievements of co-operatives and credit unions.

Congratulations to all award recipients.

Saskatchewan Co-operative Merit Awards

  • Beryl Bauer — CCA/CDF Global Co-operator Award
    Bauer has supported co-operatives for over 30 years and has served as a founding member, board member and president for several organizations. Bauer served on FCL’s Board of Directors for 13 years and has promoted co-operative development internationally through his work with the Co-operative Development Foundation of Canada (CDF) and the Canadian Co-operative Association (CCA).

  • Marilyn McKee — Lifetime Co-operative Achievement Award
    McKee is a former president of Mossbank Co-op and has represented southwest Saskatchewan on FCL’s Board of Directors for 17 years. For four years, McKee served as Chair of the Board for the Saskatchewan Co-operative Association. She has also participated in CCA study missions to Indonesia and the Philippines.

Manitoba Co-operative Association Awards

  • Robert Smith — Co-operative Merit Award
    Smith has been an active volunteer and community leader in southern Manitoba for decades, which includes 29 years of service on the board of St. Leon/Pembina Co-op.